What are you drinking RIGHT NOW?

September 29, 2007

If you were drinking a glass of wine RIGHT NOW, what would it be? My friend Agent Red White (woops) from The Wine Spies sparked this train of thought. When I was describing Swirling Notions to him—a place where we ponder the thoughts that swirl around after the cork is popped . . . what’s on the table, what’s happening in our lives, where we’ve been and how we balance it all—he said he loved the idea and that now he just had to pick a wine to sip while checking it out. When he asked me what I’d choose, I went blank. I have to admit, I’ve never been good about picking wine . . . or favorite books or movies or songs . . . on the spot (you’ll see those are all blank on my profiles . . . I’m still working on it). I just kind of freeze. He, of course, was totally suave and knew exactly what wine he’d be sipping (an Amarone).

So now I pose the question to you: since Swirling Notions is about enjoying conversations over a virtual glass (or bottle) of wine, what wine would you be (or are you) drinking right now as you read?

I’ll answer first. I’m drinking water right now, since I’m writing this and I always find that my typo ratio increases exponentially with each sip of alcohol. But later, when I come back to browse your blogs and read what you’ve all written here, I hope to be drinking a CdB 2005 Reserve Pinot Noir from the Sonoma Coast (I reviewed it here on Cork’d the first time I tasted it a few days ago, if you want to take a look) . . . if there’s any left after dinner. Noe and I are about to go to the farmer’s market and I plan to hit my fish man up for salmon. We’ve been all about halibut (and halibut cheeks) all summer long, but now with autumn I’m craving something a bit heartier. I’m thinking some type of sweet/savory preparation . . . maybe something with figs and shallots . . .

Anyway, I digress. So . . . what’s in YOUR glass right now?

Cheers!
Lia

12 Responses to “What are you drinking RIGHT NOW?”

  1. Robin Says:

    I was drinking a white burgundy earlier, but it turned out to be quite disappointing. It was adequate for the picnic it accompanied, but failed the “should we buy a few more bottles while it’s on sale” test.

    Now I’m drinking water, only because I suspect that the iced coffee I’d really like would be a very bad idea at 9:15 at night.

  2. Patrick Says:

    I just got home from Awards Night at the Sonoma County Harvest Fair, so my glass is a tall one of Healdsburg’s finest tap WATER! Some lovely wines tonight. Congrats to Clos du Bois on their White Sweepstakes win!

  3. jo Says:

    Oh nothing, please LOL as I am a little, er, foggy-headed after imbibing too much last night (two glasses is too much these days). I used to only drink red but it makes my arthritis flair up, so now I drink Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc. My other half is very passionate about wine, I should get him reading here. BTW, I LOVE halibut and serve mine with a wonderful salsa:

    one avocado cut into smallish chunks, eight (reasonably sized, ie not totally diminutive) cherry tomatoes, half a finely diced red onion, one finely sliced green chilli, a large handful of diced coriander, juice of one lime. Mix ingredients in a bowl and then pour over a big glug of olive oil (to coat all). Leave at room temp for 30 mins and serve.

    We have this at least once a week LOL.

  4. Dave Says:

    Tough call, but with summer comming to an end, I’d be very happy to have a glass or German Gewurztraminer, or a large pitcher of Sangria based off some spanish Rioja.

    Looking forward to the winter, and sitting by the fire with some of the nice reds I’ve been collecting over the summer.

  5. Maureen Says:

    Lia,
    What wine did you end up serving with your salmon the other night? (Inquiring minds want to know.) Also, what are you drinking tonight? (sunday)

    Right now, I’m drinking a shiraz grenache blend which is delicious. I’m hoping it will pair well with the pork/sweet onion relish that we are going to be having a litle later.

    Cheers!

  6. Agent White Says:

    I’m currently drinking a 2003 Chateau Fonbadet Pauillac Bordeaux. It is a great wine and we are enjoying the way wine should be… with some great friends, who incidently immediately became Wine Spy operatives so they can get their hands on this wine once we feature it.

  7. lia Says:

    Well that was fun! We’ll have to do this again!

    Robin . . . Bummer about the Burgundy. But always worth a try if it’s on sale ;-).

    Patrick . . . Thanks! I’m awaiting some wise words about the win from Erik.

    Jo . . . That salsa sounds heavenly. And I love the way you describe the tomatoes (reasonably sized, ie not totally diminutive). You crack me up.

    Dave . . . I’m with you on being ready for reds. Isn’t it funny how our wine desires morph with the seasons?

    Maureen . . . Good question! And I have a little confession to make. We ended up having sausages and a salad on Saturday night as an easy meal with friends (drank a delicious Seghesio Cortina Zin with it), and then I was going to make the salmon last night, but we wussed out and got a pizza (granted, it was a mushroom pizza with truffle oil, but I still wussed), which we drank with an Alexander Valley Vineyards Sangiovese. So still no salmon. And tonight I think I’m going to have to pop a Calcaire in honor of the awards . . . I bought some fantastic wild prawns from my fish guy and am thinking about making a special dish with them to pair with the wine. I’ll post the results tomorrow . . .

    Agent White . . . So sorry about the mixup with Agent Red! I love the way you’re enjoying that Bordeaux–I’ll have to sign in and grab a bottle myself!

    Cheers all!


  8. […] 2nd, 2007 I admit it. I never made it to that glass of Pinot Noir I had intended to sip after salmon. I never even made it to the salmon. On Saturday, I found out […]


  9. […] 5th, 2007 I admit it. I never made it to that glass of Pinot Noir I had intended to sip after salmon. I never even made it to the salmon. On Saturday, I found out […]

  10. C'tina Says:

    Enjoying a glass or three of CDB 2004 Zinfandel with one of my favorite cold weather meals…Boeuf Borguignonne (Joy of Cooking), sans flambe…

  11. lia Says:

    Verrrry nice choice, C’tina! I’m curious, did you use some of the Zin in the Boeuf Borguignonne as well?

  12. C'tina Says:

    I will next time, but I’d already an open bottle of Louis Jadot ‘Beaujolais Villages’ from a couple days before to marinade. I clicked on Nicoles Choco-pumpkin cupcakes and remembered my first experience with that combination…Chocolate Chip Pumpkin muffins, and then cookies…amazing! and the cream cheese frosting for your pumpkin cupcakes reminded me of http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/2635 I don’t have visions of sugar plumbs….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

