Back on the Braisy Chain

November 9, 2007

A few weeks back, I tagged a few of my fellow bloggers and asked them to share their favorite braises. Some, in turn, tagged others and thus a Braisy Chain was born.

Here’s what’s simmering so far:

Wine Braised Duck with Chestnuts and Polenta

DuckAmanda, from Figs, Olives, Wine, concocted this gorgeous Wine Braised Duck with Chestnuts and Polenta. Could there be a dish more autumnal?

 

 


Braised Pork with Onions and Apples

Pork and applesKatie, from Thyme For Cooking, shared Braised Pork with Onions and Apples (along with a hilarious story about a bungled golf tournament victory).

 

 


Stracotto with Fennel Seeds and White Wine

StracottoKatie also tagged Ilva from Lucullian Delights, who posted a delectable looking Stracotto with Fennel Seeds and White Wine.

Thanks to Amanda, Katie and Ilva for playing!

 

 

 

Anyone else want to join the Braisy Chain?

My thought is that you can never have too many braises to choose from. So throughout the long, chilly nights of winter, I’ll be tracking who joins the Braisy Chain and doing a roundup here, on Swirling Notions, on the second and fourth Fridays of each month.

Here’s how to join:

1. Write a post with a recipe for your favorite braise (and a photo too, if you’re so inclined) and include Swirling Notions Braisy Chain somewhere in the text.

2. Link back to the person who tagged you, and a link back to this page on Swirling Notions.

3. Tag other bloggers to join the Braisy Chain.

I’m excited to see where this leads! Talk about keeping the home fires burning . . .

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Back on the Braisy Chain”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Waaay back in 1975, I got a crockpot and a recipe book. My favorite recipe, that I still use, is Spicy Wine Pot Roast. I had no idea at the time I was “braising” or cooking tough meat longer to make it tender.

    2 kg topside
    1 large onion, chopped
    1 pkg brown gravy mix
    1 cup water
    1/4 cup tomato sauce (or ketchup-this was the original ingredient in my book)
    1/4 cup red wine
    2 tsp homemade mustard or dijon mustard
    1 tsp worcestershire sauce
    1/8 tsp garlic powder (or garlic cloves)
    1/2 tsp dried mixed herbs (or fresh)
    chopped parsley for garnish
    salt and pepper to taste

    Sprinkle meat with salt and pepper. Place in crockpot. Combine the remaining
    ingredients, except the parsley, and pour over the meat. Cover and cook for
    10 hours on LOW. Remove the meat and slice. Thicken the sauce with flour/water
    mixture and serve over meat sprinkled with chopped parsley.

    No photo available but my 1975 book shows CANNED peaches in the sauce and on the meat. Funny.
    steph

  2. Stephanie Says:

    p.s. I don’t feel like such a hick . . I googled this recipe looking for a photo and it shows up on many “foodie” websites and all have the packaged gravy mix and ketchup (Lia likes ketchup, right?). Had to laugh at that. steph

  3. Katie Says:

    Love the duck and chestnuts!
    I assume we can post more than once…or twice…
    It’s early in the season!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    My husband and son are going duck hunting tomorrow – we will have to try the duck recipe too.

    steph

  5. lia Says:

    Stephanie . . . You crack me up, I DO love ketchup! I’ll give this a shot next weekend. Time to dig the crock pot out of storage. Let us know how your duck turns out!

    Katie . . . Isn’t Amanda’s duck lovely? Absolutely by all means for sure post twice . . . or thrice . . . or (is there an “ice” for four times?). Love it!

  6. ilva Says:

    if those who I tagged braise something, I’ll let you know! Thanks for coming up with the idea!

  7. lia Says:

    Oh my Lord . . . my heart is thumping. I just replied to you, Ilva (with a thank you so much for playing and tagging!) and to chocolateshavings, who left a sweet message here, and to liketocook (can’t wait to see what you come up with!).

    And then I went and deleted entry after entry on what I THOUGHT was the new site in order to try an import again, but it was this one (PANIC!). Thankfully, I had exported last night but, unfortunately, I’ve lost some of your comments between now and then! So sorry . . . we’ll get the bugs worked out!

  8. Steve Says:

    Wow that duck looks and sounds fantastic. I gotta try that…

  9. faza Says:

    …….^_^b………….nice………………..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

