Hi . . . I’m Lia

April 21, 2007

Lia-headshotYou know, writing the first entry of a blog is sort of like stepping out to get the mail in your bathrobe at 2:00 in the afternoon (who, me?), and then realizing that there are people driving by who actually see you. It makes you feel a bit exposed and vulnerable. So I’ll just jump in . . . fully clothed.

I’m Lia Huber, and if you’d like to see how I came to be a part of Swirling Notions (and how Swirling Notions came to be), check out . . . By trade, I’m a writer and recipe developer. You may have seen my name in Cooking Light, where I’m a contributor, or in a number of other magazines I write for often, including Prevention, Health, Fitness, Bon Appetit and others. I’ve been doing this for about a dozen years, and consider myself blessed to have a career where I’m immersed in my passions.

People ask me all the time if I review restaurants. The answer is, not unless there’s a deeper story to be told. To be honest, I don’t really like to have to keep up with all the ‘hot new’ spots and who’s just opened and who’s just closed. Sure, I adore a great restaurant experience—whether it’s a sweet taco spot on a remote beach or a Michelin-starred gem in Paris (or Healdsburg, hallelujah). But what I love more is writing about food as it relates to people, to life. How it connects us to the earth, draws us together and speaks to our souls. Ditto for wine and travel.

Health has become a fairly recent focus of mine partially, because of my views on food. Personally, I think a lot of the health problems in this country happen because we’re so disconnected from what it means to be truly ‘nourished’ by a meal—by the food, the companionship, the wine, the experience as a whole. And I want to be a part of changing that.

I’ve also just finished my first novel, I Land Home. So stay tuned to see where that goes as I shop it around to agents.

On the personal side, I have lived in a gazillion different places, including New York, New Orleans (BA from Tulane, minor in French), Paris (a year at the Sorbonne), Corfu (engaged to a Greek man after leaving Paris), Costa Rica (wacky, ‘let’s just chuck it all and go’ adventure with the man I did – happily – marry) and San Francisco. But seven years ago, my husband, Christopher, and I set down roots in California’s northern Sonoma County and have truly found home here. We are also in the final stages of adopting have also adopted a little girl, our daughter, Noemi (Noe – pronounced ‘no-ee’ – for short). Our dog, Talisker the Rhodesian Ridgeback, is shunning the addition of a sibling, but he’s learning that she leaves a trail of avocado and Oatios wherever she goes. 

Cheers,
Lia

Leave a Reply

