Why Do We Fly?

May 23, 2007

I had all these lovely things I was going to write about today, and then I read this article in the NYT about how more and more airlines are charging for more and more “amenities.” Now, let me start off by saying, I understand that airlines are trying to make a few extra bucks by selling meals and chips and, quite frankly, I applaud them for doing that. If we think filling up our car is hard on our budget, just imagine what filling up those planes does to theirs. No profit equals no planes in the air for us to fly on, I get that. 

That said, what I don’t understand is why more airlines don’t just admit that it sucks to have your pillow and your drink and your movie taken away, instead of trying to spin it as if they were doing us a favor by allowing us the choice of checking a bag or imbibing water on the flight.

On American Airlines’ website, under Cabin Comfort (as the first paragraph, in fact), they state:

“At American Airlines, our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable flight experience for every single passenger (hmmmm  -ed). In our cabins, you’ll enjoy the uniquely designed interiors with blue diamond carpets, gray swooping accents and seats with a sharp, deep blue design.”

Now I don’t know about you, but the last time I was scrunched into a seat on a cross-country flight with a stale sandwich I’d paid $5 for, no water (they’d run out), no pillow or blanket, and a crappy headset that I paid another $2 for, those gray swooping accents really made my experience (yes, that sarcastic sass was intentional). 

American Airlines’ slogan is “we know why you fly” . . . I mean, come on. Here’s a hint, American, it ain’t for your blue diamond carpets.   

OK . . . I promise my next post will be much more upbeat ;-).

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Why Do We Fly?”

  1. Edie Bates Says:

    Lia – you hit the nail on the head. Someone please tell me why taking my pillow away is saving so much money!! However, I’ll give that pillow back in a heartbeat if the airlines would just figure out that limiting the pitch of the seat recline would make most of us road warriors very happy. Despite all the rhetoric and hype about decor and food offerings – comfy seats are what it’s about.

  2. lia Says:

    Amen sista! Kind of like the airlines are trying to get us to look at the shiny object while they shuffle a few walnut halves right beneath our noses, eh? Great to see you here Edie!


Leave a Reply

