What’s Your Favorite Summer Wine?

June 14, 2007

Here’s something I’ve been wondering about. What do people enjoy drinking during the dog-days of summer? For me, I vascilate between two staples depending on what’s on the plate (if anything).

If I’m just sipping, enjoying a weekend afternoon, watching my tomatoes grow, then I’ll usually pop a pink. There’s just something about the fact that it’s as crisp and refreshing as a white, but with a bit more umph that makes me love a dry rose in summer. Plus, it’s got that festive, flowery hue . . . and, it makes me think of France. πŸ˜‰

If we’ve got burgers or ribs or garlic-slathered lamb chops on the grill, my go-to wine is a spicy Zinfandel (fyi . . . we’re no longer talking pink here). I love a meaty cab as much as the next gal, and adore Rhone and Spanish varietals like Syrah and Tempranillo. But in summer, the casual, exuberant nature of a Zin is what appeals to me. It’s like the person who walks into the party all smiles, that you just can’t resist.

How about you? What do you drink in summer . . . and why?

3 Responses to “What’s Your Favorite Summer Wine?”

  1. Maureen Says:

    Hi Lia,
    Good question, as my taste in wine is so different in the summer. (I live in Phoenix and today it’s 112 degrees.)
    I love a good dry rose as well. Do you have any suggestions? Also, days like today, when I’ve been in and out of the car in the heat all day, I like to shower or take a dip in the pool, and sip a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.
    For reds, we will have a Pinot, or a shiraz grenache blend. Gosh, I’m looking forward to a glass of wine right now…

    Cheers-
    Maureen

  2. barbara Says:

    I used to love a nice dry, fruity rosΓ© but sadly the color now reminds me of my chemo treatment and I can’t drink it. I tend to drink pinot gris at lunchtime and reisling at dinner. But I do also enjoy viognier and sauvignon blanc.

  3. lia Says:

    Hi Maureen . . . boy, you made me want a glass of wine too! πŸ˜‰ For roses (it drives me a little nuts that I can’t get an accent on that word), we like to sip our friend’s rose (Forth Vineyards . . . made from Syrah grapes), and another made of Grenache by another small producer out here, Preston Vineyards. But they’re such small producers that the supplies are already gone.

    I just tried Clos du Bois’ brand new rose (it’s their first release . . . also from Syrah) and Erik did a darned good job with it. It’s got more strawberry and melon on the palate than some of the others that are a bit flintier. So I think that’s going to be one of our summer staples, along with a dip into a few from the Tavel appellation in France when the urge hits.

    Although it’s been over a hundred here, too, for the past couple of days. So I think I might hit that SB you mentioned! I can’t even imagine 112!

    ——–

    Barbara . . . I love a woman who enjoys viognier! To me the wine is feminine, quirky, sexy and sweet . . . which just has to say something about the people who drink it, right? πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

