What Shade of Green are You?

August 21, 2007

I saw a video interview on Root Concepts yesterday with Heather Stephenson from Ideal Bite (like Daily Candy, only Green). Heather used a Logideal bite logoterm in the interview, “Light Green Lifestyle,” that made me think. What shade of Green am I living?

I can certainly don a dark-green mantle and expound on all the ways I do live “Green”:

  • We grow, and eat, organic food almost exclusively
  • I am the proud owner of a vermiculture (worm) colony for composting
  • We drive a hybrid
  • We recycle

But when I’m really, shamelessly truthful, the Green gets bleached out quite a bit:

  • I fried (left the container in too much sun) and then drowned (added a sprinkler head too close to the bin) my first, oh, 10,000 or so worms on the first go-round (what color is wormicide?). So now I’m on my second batch and happy to report that they’re thriving.
  • Our hybrid is an SUV . . . and a mid-sized one at that.
  • I fell off the gDiaper wagon. I tried, but it seemed that the innards (too big) didn’t quite fit the outards (too small), and you can imagine how that played out when I had to dismantle the innards from the outards and carry them through the house to the bathroom full of another kind of turd entirely.  

So I just signed up for Ideal Bite and am already looking forward to putting their daily eco-living tips into action. In the meantime, though, I’m going to go feed my worms.

Cheers,
Lia 

3 Responses to “What Shade of Green are You?”

  1. Rosemary in Utah Says:

    Eating and growing organic almost exclusively is quite an accomplishment, I do not see how many people could manage that.
    Have less, use less, buy less stuff.
    Easier said than done, for sure!

  2. Agent Red Says:

    We strive to be good corporate citizens and are doing all we can to lessen our company’s impact on the environment. We believe that if all businesses make just small changes, we would see dramatic improvements. From the use of recycled and recyclable materials to lowering carbon output by turning off lights, driving clean or hybrid vehicles, its good business thats good for us.

  3. lia Says:

    I agree with you both! It’s the small, incremental changes we make–choosing to “have less, use less and buy less stuff” as Rosemary says–that will make a big difference in the end. In the video, Heather give a great example of the ripple effect of changing to a more eco-friendly lightbulb. Her message is, you may think it’s a small, futile gesture, but it’s not.


Leave a Reply

