Happy Do-As-Little-As-Possible Day

August 31, 2007

I was thinking about Labor Day. It’s a funny title for a time that’s meant to be a break from labor. I mean, shouldn’t it be called Rest Day? Or Chill Out Day?*. I think so.

So it’s in a very non-laborious spirit that I offer this, one of my highest reward-to-effort ratio recipes (i.e. lots of yum without much work), to accompany you into this deliciously long weekend. Enjoy! 

{ Grilled Flank Steak with Salsa Verde }

This Salsa Verde is of the Old World variety—think parsley and anchovies in lieu of cilantro and chiles

1-1/2 pounds flank steak
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
6 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley
1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon anchovy paste
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

Rub flank steak with 1 1/2 teaspoons salt and half of the pepper and garlic; set aside. Grill steak over medium-high direct heat for 7 minutes, turning once, or until cooked to desired doneness. Transfer to a platter, cover with foil, and let rest 10 minutes before slicing thinly across the grain.

Meanwhile, in a blender or mortar and pestle (although an m&p will lower the reward-to-effort ratio), combine remaining salt, pepper, garlic and next five ingredients until smooth. Spoon over steak.

Serves 6

Pair with . . . An Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon would meet the meat while echoing the greener notes in this dish. Or try something a bit more daring, like a Tempranillo or Cabernet Franc.

* (according to Wikipedia, Labor Day was instituted in 1882 at the bequest of the Central Labor Union . . . hence the name)

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Happy Do-As-Little-As-Possible Day”


  1. Hi Lia:
    Perfect recipe! Easy to follow and sounds like an absolute must try. I have a Sicilian Nero d’Avola that is looking for just a great get together recipe and I just found it.
    Cheers,
    Wilf

  2. C'tina Says:

    Lia,

    I found you @ Pinch My Salt and I look forward to perusing your blog. Besides the local CIAO festival http://www.ciaowilliamsburg.org/ I’ve only been on one other wine tour through Long Island, where I first tried Pelligrini Cabernet Franc. We got our Ridgeback Tavia to tire out our boys…(the only thing that tires them out is the ocean) My dog and I have a special understanding and commiserate on occasion. I’ve enoyed reading about your experiences and philosophies, and Christopher, Noe and Talisker.

  3. lia Says:

    Wilf . . . Thank you. I’m so glad you stopped by and found the recipe. I’ll look forward to hearing how the Nero d’Avola goes with it!

    C’tina . . . hello fellow Ridgeback owner, glad you’re here! It sounds as if we’re going to have to lure you into trying some West Coast wines. Stay tuned . . .

    Cheers,
    Lia

  4. C'tina Says:

    Oh, lure me, do…lol. It won’t be hard to entice the willing. Now that I think on, I’ve enjoyed V. Sattui, red, but can’t recall the variety, and Chalk Hill chardonnay. Looking forward to perusing further @ Swirling Notions!

  5. Glenna Says:

    mmmm…yummy. Wish I’d been at your house instead of eating chicken strips at the hospital cafeteria!

  6. Caroline Says:

    This is my first visit to your site. Love the mix of wine and food info!

  7. lia Says:

    Thanks for stopping by Caroline! I’m glad you enjoy, and we’ll look forward to seeing more of you . . .

    Cheers,
    Lia


Leave a Reply

